Neighborhood Council Budget Advocates

www.ncbala.com



Los Angeles City Hall 200 North Spring Street Room 1035, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Saturday, June 29, 2019

Meeting #1 Minutes

Board Members	Roll Call	Region	Board Members	Roll Call	Region
Kevin Davis	Present	1	Liz Amsden	Present	8
Ann Job	Present	1	Brian McCain	Present	8
John DiGregorio	Present	1	VACANT		8
Brian Allen	Present	2	VACANT		9
Glenn Bailey	Present	2	Evelyn Valdez	Present	9
Garry Fordyce	Present	2	Jason Franklin	Present	9
Jeffrey Mausner	Present	3	Carol Derby-David	Present	10
Carol Newman	Present	3	Tracey Brown	Present	10
Joanne Yvanek-Garb	Present	3	VACANT		10
Jeannette Hopp	Absent	4	Jay Handal	Present	11
Howard Katchen	Present	4	Jacqueline Le Kennedy	Excused	11
Brandon Pender	Present	4	Jon Liberman	Present	11
Jack Humphreville	Present	5	Melanie Labrecque	Present	12
Patrick Seamans	Present	5	Danielle Sandoval	Present	12
Charles Taylor	Present	5	Dr. Princess Sykes	Present	12
James Hornik	Present	6			
Nina Smith	Present	6			
Ernesto Castro	Present	6			
Tony Michaelis	Present	7			
Barbara Ringuette	Present	7			
Connie Acosta	Present	7			

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u>: Jay Handal called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. Quorum was met at 12:30 p.m. with 31 members present. John Darnell, Julien Antelin and Anne-Marie Holman from the Department of Neighborhood Empowerment were present to assist with the election.
- 2. <u>Public Comment:</u> David Rockello, Board Member of Rampart Village NC praised the Budget Advocates for their work this year.
- 3. <u>Introductions</u>: Budget Advocates introduced themselves, identified the NC they are representing, shared skills and passions.
- 4. 2018-19 Co-Chairs: Liz Amsden and Jay Handal welcomed the NC Budget Advocates. Liz Amsden discussed the

responsibilities, obligations and commitments of the Executive Committee. Then Jay Handal conducted the elections.

- NOTE: For items 5-11, Nominees had 2 minutes to explain their desire for the officer positions, skill sets and responsibilities.
- 5. <u>Co-Chairs:</u> Accepting nominations were Carol Newman, Jack Humphreville, John DiGregorio, Brian Allen, and Patrick Seamans. Jack Humphreville and Carol Newman were elected with 22 votes and 20 votes respectively.

Elected Co-Chairs are Jack Humphreville and Carol Newman.

6. <u>Vice Chair of Development:</u> Accepting the nomination was Barbara Ringuette while nominee John DiGregorio declined.

By acclamation, Barbara Ringuette is the new Vice-Chair of Development.

 Vice Chair of Outreach: Accepting Nominations were John DiGregorio, Connie Acosta, and Danielle Sandoval while nominee Tony Michaelis declined. Danielle Sandoval was elected with 16 votes. DiGregorio tallied 11 votes and Acosta 2 votes.

Danielle Sandoval is now the Vice-Chair of Outreach.

8. <u>Administrative Secretary:</u> Accepting nominations were Melanie Labrecque, Tony Michaelis, Jon Liberman, and Connie Acosta. Melanie Labrecque tallied 12 votes, Tony Michaelis 11, Jon Liberman 3, and Connie Acosta 3.

Melanie Labrecque is the new Administrative Secretary.

9. <u>Recording Secretary</u>: Connie Acosta, John DiGregorio, Jay Handal, Tony Michaelis and Evelyn Valdez declined nominations.

<u>Recording Secretary (Re-visited)</u>: Connie Acosta agreed to assume the position if there would be a paid note-taker.

Jay Handal made a motion to approve up to \$6,000 for a note-taker. Connie Acosta seconded. No objections. No abstentions. **Vote:** 31-0-0 **MOTION PASSED**

Connie Acosta is now the Recording Secretary.

10. <u>Treasurer</u>: Howard Katchen accepted the nomination while nominees Brian McCain and John DiGregorio declined.

Howard Katchen is elected Treasurer by acclamation.

11. <u>Parliamentarian:</u> Tony Michaelis, Brian Allen, and Jon Liberman accepted nominations while Glenn Bailey declined. Tony Michaelis had 16 votes, Brian Allen 10 votes, and Jon Liberman 4 votes.

Tony Michaelis is the new Parliamentarian.

12. <u>Outgoing Co-chairs formally turned over control of meeting to newly elected Co-Chairs</u>: Carol Newman and Jack Humphreville as the new co-chairs took control over the meeting.

- 13. <u>Responsibilities and potential paths for the upcoming year (J. Humphreville and C. Newman):</u>
 There was a discussion about how the Budget Advocates would operate in the coming year.
- 14. <u>Set Retreat date at which time meeting dates will be confirmed based on Budget Advocates' stated availabilities:</u> The retreat is tentatively set for Saturday, July 20, 2019 beginning at 10 a.m. at Eagle Rock City Hall on Colorado Boulevard, Liz Amsden to confirm that the location is available.
- 15. <u>Set Meeting of Executive Committee to plan retreat and address mentoring new Budget Advocates:</u> Executive Committee will meet before the retreat and emails will be sent out to coordinate the meeting time.
- 16. <u>Brief discussion on requesting meeting with the Mayor about his Budget Proposal for FY 2020-21</u>: The first meeting of the year with the Mayor is proposed to take place on July 24, 2019, and Jack Humphreville will coordinate it.
- 17. <u>Brief discussion about setting meetings with departments to explore budget policies and parameters before they start their budgeting process:</u> Postponed to a later date.
- 18. Executive tasks to be completed following the Executive Committee meeting and prior to the Retreat: Carol Newman will make a list of tasks and the Executive Committee will address the topics to list on the Agenda.
- 19. Tasks for all Budget Advocates prior to the Retreat:
 - Compile a list of the Budget Representatives to contact or meet with.
 - Budget Advocates should divide up the Neighborhood Councils in their regions and assume responsibility for attending Neighborhood Council meetings and communicating with their NC's.
 - Budget Advocates should submit their headshots to Melanie Labrecque to be posted on the NCBALA website.
- 20. Adjournment: 2:18 p.m.